20 Questions about Second Life I decided to answer :D

  1. When and how did you discover Second Life? – I discovered Second Life during its very first developement, but didn’t join it and discarded the idea of subscribing because it asked for a fee to pay, and I was looking for a virtual world I could explore for free. There were a very few alternatives back then, and none was really satisfying. In the end, after a dream I had I wanted at all costs to makre true, someone told me at september 2006 that it became free.
  2. Did you know about virtual worlds before or was this your first experience with them? – I’ve searched for a long time for a virtual world that wasn’t a game, but actually a virtual world. So yeah I knew about them for a long time.
  3. Has Second Life met your expectations? – Absolutely, at first, but it slowly started to drift away for what I expected it to be when voice first came to be and changed the balance between “visual chat with puppets” and “virtual world to explore”, orienting it mostly on the first feature. I must admit it got a bit more boring.
  4. If you could teleport back to the first ten minutes of your avatar’s slife, what would you tell yourself? – Don’t fall for the white haired dude when you meet him.
  5. How long did it take you to master avatar flying and driving vehicles inworld? – It was an instant. It was mostly easy to understand to me, the only thing that took a while was to understand you actually had a hud to attach in order to change your animations.
  6. Do you have a mystery alt? – No mysteries for me, I have difficulties managing an avatar, let alone more than one. There was this one alt I created for being left alone when I need it, but yeah, I don’t use it very much, almost never. Also, it’s very old. And there was an avatar I used for businness purposes a lot of time ago, I almost never use that too.
  7. Is your SL avatar a reflection of you, or someone you wished you could be? – My avatar is more me than I could ever be. That doesn’t mean he’s someone I wish I was. He’s the avatar of my personality.
  8. Is there an individual you met in SL that inspired you in your RL? How? – Not really. There goes the terribly arrogant myself everyone should beware of!!! 😀 But seriously, most of really inspiring people for me, I met them outside SL. It’s a pure accident I guess, it’s not a matter of media, but people. One of them was on Second Life but I never met him there, for example.
  9. Do you feel it is easier to create stronger bonds/relationships with people you meet inworld as opposed to the real world? – It’s easier because what you see with me is what you get. While in real life, I really give out some very wrong ideas for some reasons I don’t really want to explain. So yeah, everything is more simple for me as Kei Kojishi.
  10. Did you ever imagine or believe people could fall in love with someone they never met before Second Life? – I believe this could happen, yes.
  11. How has your perspective of dating changed (or not) since you started playing second life? – Dating in second life or in real life? When I first played I didn’t want to get involved with anyone. Really. But then I started to be more curious about how “deep” the bonds could get, to get amused by exploring other people’s mind in a sexual and romantic point of view too. I still am quite non-committal tho. I married my wife just for a symbolic reason, we never really had a “married” life on Second Life, she left the place way before we actually celebrated it. It was a goodbye, sort of. Real life relationships — No changes at all.
  12. How has your perspective of employment changed (or not) since you started playing second life? – No it never really changed.
  13. Name three things in both your lives that overlap each other significantly. – Personality is the only thing that truly overlaps.
  14. If you could live your life more immersively in a virtual world, would you? (Kind of like the Matrix) – I would, if it worked like second life first worked.
  15. How do you think behavior changes for people if they’re inworld vs in real world? Why do you think that is? – It really depends on who you’re talking about. Some changes are due to social anxiety mostly, repressed issues that explode where it’s safer for them to explode.
  16. How has second life consumerism changed your perception of spending habits, the value of money, the need to be “bleeding edge” with fashion? – My habits are always the same: If somebody else pays for my stuff, it’s better. Unless I suspect that person is using the gesture as a controlling or power displaying feature.
  17. Do you think virtual worlds like SL drive and redefine human interaction or do they narrow and limit it? – I think they’re like a dream world made of many dreams. A completely different surrounding creates a completely different social structure and way of thinking, interacting. Yes, it broadens your mind, if it ever was open to that in the first place. If not, it just limits you.
  18. If technology progressed tomorrow to allow you to send emotions to people the way you’d send text or voice messages, would it enrich your SL experience or infringe on it? – I would be scared of it, I very rarely want to show my emotions, to a point I don’t manage to when I’d need to. It would enrich my SL experience only if I could completely control it.
  19. Name three skills you attribute to having learned or honed in second life alone. – Nothing? It always was a mixture of my real life skills used inworld. But I learned to take snapshots and move attachments REAL FAST.
  20. If your grand kids googled your Second Life Avatar’s name, would they be intrigued, disgusted, proud or something else? – They would be not suprised at all, I guess. Grandpa was a psychologist-wannabe freak with a terrible attitude. No news, yeah?
Informazioni su Keishiro Yukikaze

Just your regular twisted egomaniac
Questa voce è stata pubblicata in No Category. Contrassegna il permalink.

Rispondi

